University of Tasmania

Incorporated in 1890, the University of Tasmania enjoys an illustrious and honoured history. A public research university in Tasmania, Australia, the University of Tasmania (UTAS) conducts research across a range of disciplines. UTAS is the nation's fourth-oldest university, and this vintage gives the university the distinguished title of a sandstone university; one of its oldest tertiary institutions. As a member of the Commonwealth University Association and the Association of Southeast Asian Institutions of Higher Learning, it is recognized internationally. Throughout its history, the university has been recognized for brilliance in both learning and teaching.

UTAS has played an important role in world-changing discoveries over the course of its history, has created a setting for social, economic, and cultural development, and is home to 90,000 alumni who have built successful lives and careers in Tasmania and around the world. The College's staff and students have always forged ahead along the sometimes-rocky path of knowledge and discovery and then set out to improve society. Through the University of Tasmania, Tasmania looks to the world and the world looks to Australia; it serves as a bridge from our island bringing together people, geographical regions, beliefs, and philosophies.


As part of its comprehensive operation, the University of Tasmania has campuses in each of Tasmania's three main regions - Hobart in the south, Launceston in the north and Burnie in the north-west - to represent the state fully. There are two campuses in Sydney - Darlinghurst and Rozelle.

Hobart and Launceston campuses at the University of Tasmania are home to a wide range of facilities and services that will help you to make the most out of your stay on campus - from library services to computer labs, shops, banks, post offices, and health centres.

  • Hobart campus:
    Christ College, John Fisher College, University Apartments and Mt Nelson Villas.
  • Launceston campus:
    Newnham Apartments, Leprena, Kerslake Hall and Investigator Hall.

Departments/ Schools

The University of Tasmania has six faculties, some divided into schools, and three institutes:

1. Faculty of Arts

School of Humanities
School of Social Sciences
Tasmanian College of the Arts
Tasmania School of Business and Economics

2. Faculty of Education

3. Faculty of Health

School of Medicine
School of Health Sciences

4. Faculty of Law

5. Faculty of Science, Engineering & Technology

School of Physical Sciences
School of Engineering and ICT
School of Architecture and Design
School of Land and Food
School of Biological Sciences

Australian Maritime College
Institute for Marine and Antarctic Studies
Menzies Research Institute Tasmania


Tasmania's exceptional infrastructure, which includes state-of-the-art equipment and a unique physical environment around our island state, supports the University's excellence in research. Their researchers conduct internationally competitive research using our top-of-the-line tools and facilities to answer fundamental questions and achieve world-changing innovations. The infrastructure of their research facility is a result of a variety of valuable sources of funding, and as part of their commitment to building partnerships and returning these funds to the community, the university offers many of its facilities for external use.


In order to improve access to higher education, the University is committed to rewarding excellence. Over 900 scholarships are provided by the UTAS Scholarship Program to the value of over $7 million.

Tasmania International Scholarship (TIS): Tuition fees are reduced by 25% for the duration of the course (provided they maintain a satisfactory grade point average). Students also have access to TIS through the Foundation studies program, which is offered by the University of Tasmania for most undergraduate and postgraduate coursework degrees.


Student services

Student advisors serve as a liaison between you and the university, helping you find the supports you need. You can speak to your Student Advisor for guidance if you are experiencing time management issues, academic challenges, problems navigating systems and processes, financial difficulties, housing problems, relocation problems, physical or mental health disorders, or relationship concerns. Advisors can assist you in identifying the main problems and solving them, as well as connecting you to other forms of support.

Housing services

Hobart and Launceston students can stay on or off campus in Hobart and Launceston thanks to Accommodation Services. The University of Tasmania offers a wide variety of on- and off-campus accommodation options both in Hobart and Launceston. In addition to single rooms, there are several 6-bedroom apartments and a small number of one- and two-bedroom flats.

Library services

As one of the University's key resources, the library supports the learning, teaching, and research of its students. Located across four campuses, the library offers a wide range of on- and off-campus services and resources, as well as physical locations.

Medical services

In addition to providing a safe working environment for students, the University is committed to protecting their health and safety when on campus or conducting approved fieldwork activities.