Western Sydney University

The University of Washington was founded in 1981. UWS strives to be a place that makes a contribution to the betterment of its students and a source of relevant, vigorous creativity and new knowledge that contributes to individual and communal growth. With over 2000 employees and about 35 000 students from Australia and throughout the world, the University is culturally diverse. The rich texture of history, knowledge, and abilities that the UWS community possesses is something we are proud of.

The university is built for the knowledge economy of the twenty-first century, in which individual and community skills will determine economic development and social consequences, and education will be flexible and adaptable to fit individual requirements.

The courses at UWS are geared toward the future. The University's culture emphasises critical and questioning inquiry and creativity, from professional education in vocationally-based fields to critical scholarship in higher degree programmes.


The University of Western Sydney has six campuses in the Greater Western Sydney region:

Bankstown campus :

The Bankstown campus is located in the Bankstown Local Government Area, near the Milperra suburb. The campus lies on the corner of Horsley Road and Bullecourt Avenue, with Bullecourt Avenue being the main entrance.

Nirimba Education Precinct, Blacktown campus :

The Blacktown campus is located in the Blacktown Local Government Area, near the suburb of Quakers Hill.

Campbelltown campus:

The Campbelltown campus is located in the Campbelltown Local Government Area, near the Macarthur neighbourhood. The campus is on the crossroads of Narellan Road and Gilchrist Drive, with Narellan Road being the main entrance.

Hawkesbury campus:

The Hawkesbury campus is located in the Hawkesbury Local Government Area, in the Richmond district of Richmond.

Parramatta campus and Westmead precinct:

The Parramatta campus is in the Rydalmere area of the Parramatta Local Government Area. The campus is divided into two sections: Parramatta South (the main campus) and Parramatta North (the satellite campus). On the crossroads of Victoria Road and James Ruse Drive, both campuses are located. Victoria Road is the main entrance to Parramatta South.

Penrith campus:

The Penrith campus is located in the Penrith Local Government Area, near the neighbourhood of Werrington. Werrington North, Werrington South, and Kingswood are the three sites that make up the Penrith campus. The Great Western Highway runs through the Werrington North and South campuses. The Great Western Highway connects the North and South campuses.


UWS provides a diverse choice of housing options on each campus, ensuring that you have access to high-quality, affordable housing that provides a valuable healthy dynamic learning environment.

Students can choose from a variety of self-catering options, including residential halls, townhouses, cottages, and divisions.


Undergraduate, postgraduate, and doctorate programmes are available in a variety of subjects, including law, medicine, social sciences, psychology, humanities, and business. Online education is also offered through the institution's official website, which offers a variety of courses. The instructional styles you'll meet at UWS, as well as the study skills you'll need, may differ significantly from what you're used to in your native country. There are numerous departments and courses to choose from.

Bachelor courses:

  • Agriculture, Horticulture, Food and Natural Sciences
  • Arts and International Studies
  • Business
  • Computing and Information Technology
  • Creative and Communication Arts
  • Engineering, Construction and Industrial Design
  • Health Sciences and Sport Sciences
  • Law
  • Natural Environment
  • Nursing
  • Psychology
  • Sciences
  • Social Sciences
  • Teaching and Education
  • Tourism and Hospitality

Postgraduate courses

  • Accounting, Finance and Property Investment
  • Communication, Design and Media
  • Engineering and Built Environment
  • Health Sciences
  • Information Technology and Computing
  • International Business and Marketing
  • Languages, Interpreting and Translation
  • Management
  • Nursing
  • Psychology
  • Sciences
  • Social Sciences
  • Teaching and Education
  • Therapeutic Studies and Counselling
  • International Hospitality and Hotel Management

Students and Alumni:

Western Sydney University is a supportive community of students from more than 70 nations that represent a wide range of cultures and ethnicities. The university has a total undergraduate enrollment of 38,827 students, with 7,123 students pursuing postgraduate degrees. Currently, the institution employs approximately 1,675 academic and 1,712 administrative staff members. Each faculty member is extremely qualified and experienced in their respective fields, ensuring that students receive the greatest possible support.

Over the years, the university has produced a number of notable alumni. Christopher Kelen (Academic, Writer, and Artist), Christopher Fleming (Researcher, Television Personality, and Public Speaker), Fiona Meryl Scott (Politician), Matthew Granfield (Marketing Head of Heritage Bank), Azis Syamsuddin (Politician), Yvonne Jaqueline Strzechowski (Actress), Craig Anderson (TV Actor), Anita Heiss (Writer and Cultural Activist), Damian McDonald (Novelist), Whitney (Poet, Director and Screenwriter) is some of the distinguished alumni of WSU.